Carpet (at last)!

As you may well recall, one day in July 2007, it rained.  And rained.  In my house, the rain came through the roof, through the ceiling of the upstairs loo, through the floor, and through the ceiling underneath it, which fell down.  This is the sight that greeted me when I came home late that night.

before

Finally, thanks to the insurance company (I love loss adjusters! – he had taken time out from wading up to his waist in water in flooded houses in Yorkshire, to trouble himself with my minor catastrophe), I now have a redecorated ceiling, repainted walls in sitting-room and kitchen, and a nice new Berber carpet from John Lewis – long overdue (the old carpet had been disgusting ever since I moved into the house in 1992 and couldn’t afford to replace it then after I had done the rewiring, re-plumbing, central heating, redecorating and all that.  The previous owners had four cats and four dogs… you can imagine what the carpet was like). 

Hooray!

after

Explore posts in the same categories: Life: living of, my house, No one cares what you had for lunch

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Carpet (at last)!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I think your new carpet looks very nice.


Leave a Reply

