Bassoon reed gadget

light plaque

My friend Tom has acquired a gadget – invented in Finland – which enables you to light up your bassoon reed from INSIDE so that you can see how even or uneven your scraping is.  Follow these links for details (and cunning illustrations):

http://www.doublereed.fi/eng/main.html

http://www.reedmaker.com/lightp.html

My first reaction was ‘what a silly idea’ and ‘what an expensive toy’ (especially as Tom had to get it imported from the USA and pay customs duty on it), but he writes enthusiastically:

I put three reeds on that I had nearly given up on and could see EXACTLY where I had gone wrong and where the reed was uneven. A few very minor scrapes on the irregular bits and I transformed two of them and the other is no longer a no hoper.

Anyone else have any experience of this marvellous device??  I’d certainly be glad to be able to scrape more effectively without wrecking my reeds before they have had an active life…
(It’s available for oboe reeds too.)

picture from Chris Van Os Double Reeds at http://www.kv191.nl/ — thanks

thanks to Tom Hardy http://www.tomhardybassoon.com/

Explore posts in the same categories: bassoon, wind music

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Bassoon reed gadget”

  1. patty Says:

    My bassoon playing pals love the thing too. But they just bought it at Forrests music, a local store here in California. Their enthusiasm doesn’t convince this oboe player to get one, though.

  2. Nightingale Says:

    Ok. Go ahead and delete this comment. Obviously I haven’t got a clue, but I just about got whiplash when I read “cunning illustrations”. 😯

  3. jonathanburton Says:

    Cheeky monkey!
    ‘Cunning’ because you can click on them to make the light go on and off and see it with or without the reed, I meant.
    Maybe the gagdet is adapted from something gynecological 😉

  4. mona lisa Says:

    lol.. something gynecological.. thats hilarious. but..hey, it makes sense. You want something to open up the thingy and look inside….
    I sent a link to your site to the director of my choir. he’s a bit of a double reed afficionado.


Leave a Reply

